Baking Wife Modern Life

Gluten-Free and shamelessly delicious

Apple Crumble Overnight Oats

Apologies for the single post last week, I was a busy little bee preparing for and completing all my exams and I am now free and refuse to look at a text book for the next two weeks of freedom. During my time off I am constantly playing in the kitchen and I have lots of yummy christmas-y recipes coming up for everyone.There will be quite a lot of sweet treats and edible decor (some is a bit naughty but lets be real it’s CHRISTMAS!). Everything in moderation including moderation… (says the girl who cannot stick to 2 biscuits with a cup of tea…Yes I am weak)

At the moment is Melbourne, the weather is insane. Hot 30 degree weather does a flip and we get hit with rainy miserable days which calls for hot teas, magazines, ugg boots and a blanket. Since the weather is so unpredictable, I decided to make Apple Crumble overnight oats. The flavour combination is perfect for cold days bringing forth images of apple crumble; whilst the actual breakfast itself is cold which is refreshing on those hot 6am starts. Since we never know what we are going to get I figured this would be the best of both worlds. Overnight oats are a superb way to be creative with breakfast. The fact that breakfast is done and dusted means that I can enjoy hitting that snooze button ad prepare my mental to-do list for the day. This jar of goodness is inspired by apple crumble. I always add yoghurt whether it be Greek or Natural to my oats just for the extra protein boost, this can be substituted with a nut milk to make this breaky lactose free. As soon as you open the jar, you feel an instant warmth from the cinnamon followed by the slight tart notes of the apple and yoghurt. NOM NOM NOM

(* Apologies for the quick snap, this was just so good that I couldn’t wait to show you!! )

 Apple Crumble Overnight Oats
(Feeds one greedy BWML or two normal sized serves) 

½ cup Organic Gluten Free rolled oats
½ cup almond milk
½ cup Plain Greek Yoghurt
¼ cup Unsweetened Applesauce
¼ cup Sultanas
1 Tbsp cinnamon powder

*Maple syrup if you want it sweeter

Mix everything together, cover and chill overnight.

In the morning add any additional toppings, whatever makes you happy. I generally add walnuts that I’ve crush up lightly in between my fingers along with sunflower seeds and pepitas(pumpkin seeds).

Notes:
If you do have the time in the morning, some roughly chopped up apple would really add to this dish. It adds a refreshing crisp quality.
As you can see there is no sugar added to this recipe. I find the sultanas and applesauce act as great sweeteners but if you like it that little bit sweeter, maple syrup is a winner with this combo!

There are SOOO many different combinations for overnight oats? Does anyone have a favourite they could share with me? There are too many flavours to explore and I don’t know where to start.

 

One comment on “Apple Crumble Overnight Oats

  1. anisakazemi
    October 26, 2015

    Delish!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
