Baking Wife Modern Life

Gluten-Free and shamelessly delicious

Walnut & Cranberry Bliss Balls

After the gluten free expo last weekend, my body spun into turmoil after all the sugar I had consumed. I was taste testing cake mixes, pizza bases, chips and dips, not to mention my mother in law thought we should live on the wild side and purchased a heap of giant macarons that we ended up eating that night. Loved it! Didn’t say no… and definitely didn’t regret it. Since I don’t consume much refined sugar, I noticed that when I do have a heap of sugar, my body ends up craving sugar and carbs for days! Does anyone else feel this way? Is it normal?

This week I have eaten so much junk I am actually sick of it BUT my body is wanting more and I know that by giving it more I am just creating more cravings. So… to manage these cravings I made my own chocolate using Cacao Liquor (raw cacao paste) and these beautiful bliss balls. I love these  babies because they are not sickly sweet! I sometimes find that bliss balls made with dates as a main components just take the sweetness to a whole other level. The walnuts offered a great almost buttery medium for the cranberries and coconut. A really fantastic combination!

Walnut & Cranberry Bliss Balls
(Makes 15 balls)

1 cup walnuts
½ cup dried cranberries
¾ cup desiccated coconut (reserve ¼ cup for the coconut coating)
1 tbsp coconut oil
1-2 tbsp water (more if needed)

Place the walnuts, cranberries, ½ cup of coconut, coconut oil and water in a blender or food processor.
Blend until combined. If the mixture is still too dry to roll into balls, add a dash more water.
I used a melon baller to make my bliss balls. This ensures they are even size but it’s just as easy to eyeball the sizes and roll. Wet your hands, this will assist in the rolling of the balls.
Roll the balls like you would chocolate truffles in the remaining coconut.
Keep refrigerated and ENJOY!

7 comments on “Walnut & Cranberry Bliss Balls

  1. Anna Daftari
    December 21, 2015

    Hmm i always come back to your blog and its simply amazing ! Of course I’m vegan but i still like to show the other recipes to my fam ! Love, Anna xx

    • bakingwifemodernlife
      February 12, 2016

      So sorry for the late reply! I had an unfortunate mishap with gluten and it has been a slow recovery 😦 I am so glad that you enjoy my blog! Put a real smile on my face 😛 xox

  2. Slava Komzik
    November 26, 2015

    Thanks for the recipe, I’ve just made a batch – they’re delicious! The’re supposed to be my treat for the next week but I.m not sure how long they will last.
    Regarding your sugar craving – I feel the same after eating some sugary treat. Sick as dog and yet still craving more. That’s why I stay away from them most of times

  3. estherjane13
    October 19, 2015

    What an interesting recipe. I have all the ingredients and I’m in the middle of studying for exams. I’d say that’s the perfect time to try out a new recipe to give me energy. Thanks!

  4. lizellyn
    October 17, 2015

    These seem like a delicious combination. I’m always looking for a new cranberry recipe every Thanksgiving – I think I just found it thanks to you. I hope you share more finds from the gluten free expo.

    • bakingwifemodernlife
      October 17, 2015

      I’m so glad to hear that 🙂 These are really really nice and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. I hope to discover some awesome products so I can share them with everyone xoxox

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , .
