Baking Wife Modern Life

Gluten-Free and shamelessly delicious

Pumpkin & Sage Gnocchi with Toasted Pine Nuts and Persian Feta

I wanted to post this early because the Gluten Free Expo is on in Melbourne this weekend and one of my favourite gluten free products will be on offer there.

I’m 110% sure that I am not alone when I describe the flood of joy and sass that comes from gluten eaters responding well to my gluten free options. They chow it down like its liquid gold and then are in awe that there was no gluten in it? WHOA!!! I act very cool calm and collected when they compliment the food but inside I’m screaming ‘IN YOUR FACE!’. To my surprise I have always had a more than favourable response to this gnocchi dish and one of the best compliments I get is ‘ Is this seriously gluten free? It’s actually nicer than normal gnocchi’. Whilst I get annoyed at the term normal I bypass that insult and do a victory dance (in my head of course). Don’t tell me you don’t do the same… It’s all good, we are all one non-judgmental family here 🙂

This brand of Gnocchi is a favourite for a reason. It hasn’t been all that long since I was diagnosed so I can vividly remember what wheat gnocchi tastes like and in comparison, this gnocchi is much lighter, not stodgy or doughy and you don’t feel like a siesta afterwards. Unless you have time to whip up some homemade gnocchi, this is descent. My mum is a chef and she is very particular on food and to my excitement, even she loves this gnocchi and has it at home even when she is not catering it for me.

From my knowledge there are 3 flavours: Traditional, Spinach and Tomato. I have tried all of them and can say that when repurchasing, I always go back for the traditional. Please don’t think I am shoving this into your tummies, it is just that given the large amounts of misses I have encountered with gluten free products, when I find a hit product I feel the burning desire to tell everyone. I must get that from my mother.  She has 8 sisters and when one of them discovers a great recipe, gadget or what not, within a day you can bet all of the sisters will know about it. As for the gnocchi, they are usually around $6 or so at Coles and Woolworths so if they are cheaper at the expo I really think it’s worth giving it a try (the traditional.. trust me!!!)

This is a really traditional dish and there are heaps of versions out there. It is very delicate and hasn’t got too much going on which is what I am all about. The hardest part is cutting up the pumpkin, everything else just gets thrown in the sauté pan as is.

Pumpkin & Sage Gnocchi with Toasted Pine Nuts and Persian Feta
(Serves 4)

3 cups of 1 inch cubed pumpkin (400g)

¼ cup olive oil + extra to drizzle over the pumpkin whilst roasting

½ cup packed whole sage leaves

1/4 cup pine nuts

50g Persian feta( or whatever feta you like)
Pre heat oven to 180 C

Place the pumpkin on a baking sheet lined with foil and drizzle with olive oil and salt.

Bake for about an hour or until the pumpkin is fork tender.

For the Gnocchi, bring a pan of water to a boil. Add plenty of salt and cook until the gnocchi rises to the surface. Use a slotted spoon remove the gnocchi and place them on a paper towel to drain of excess water.

In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, add the olive oil and get it relatively hot but not smoking.

Drop in your sage leaves, pine nuts, roasted pumpkin and let the flavours get to know each other. The sage will crisp up almost straight away, the pumpkin will cook that little bit extra and the pine nuts will toast.

After a minute or so, add the gnocchi and in order for it to brown a few minutes, you need to let the gnocchi settle in the pan. Occassionally give the pan a good shake so nothing catches to the pan. Saute for 4-5 minutes.

Season with salt but be mindful that you are adding feta which is salty in itself.

Take the pan off the heat and crumble your favourite feta cheese and serve!

This is best eaten immediately otherwise it can go a bit on the rubbery side upon reheating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .
