Baking Wife Modern Life

Gluten-Free and shamelessly delicious

Making it easier to opt for healthier choices

Mr.BWML is the unhealthy one out of the both of us and I have made it my mission to subtly change his eating habits. I say subtly because whenever I make a change obvious or drastic, like most men he resists the idea.

Have you ever seen the movie ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’? The mother says to the daughter ‘The man is the head, but the woman is the neck. And she can turn the head any way she wants’. This quote cracks me up every time because it is SO true! So to change his eating one simple change I made was this…

 

When we snack, Mr.BWML normally opts for chips or chocolate. Whenever I show up with a platter of fruit or vegetables, Mr.BWML is always happy to snack on them, so why is his first choice always chips? I am now going to present you with a typical dialogue between the both of us to give you a good idea of my husbands train of thought:

Mr.BWML: ‘I’m a bit peckish what do we have?’

Mrs.BWML: ‘I can cut up some vegetables?’

Mr.BWML: ‘Nah I’ll just open up some chips’

Mrs.BWML: ‘Are you sure? It will take 2 seconds’

Mr. BWML: ‘Yeah don’t bother. Then you got to cut the vegetables, peel stuff, wash up… too much effort’

That last line played in my head. For Mr.BWML, it was all about the effort and the man did have a point. It is a lot quicker and easier to open up some chips than it is to prepare a vegetable platter. I also can relate to the idea that when your on the hunt to satisfy hunger pangs, having to prepare stuff can be enough to deter you from this option.
I found these massive jars in my pantry a few weeks ago and cut and prepared the vegetables and stored them in water. The water keeps the vegetables fresh and crisp. If you ever find your celery wilting, simply cut and place it in a jar of water and keep in the fridge and they will soon look like new. Every few days replace the water to keep the vegetables fresh. I have refilled the jars several times which is prove enough that more vegetables are being eaten by the both of us.

Now that the preparation is already done, all that is needed is taking the vegetables and putting them on a plate. That is as easy as having to open a pack of chips.

Today I walked into the kitchen and low and behold this is what Mr. BWML prepared for his snack today… Mr. FANCY PANTS even adorned the plate with lemon juice, dried oregano and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil!

To be honest I was shocked that he knew where the chopping boards were but either way my soul so happy and again that quote from ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ replayed in my head. Funny how things can change.

There clearly seems to be a trend here… Just like my large jug of Watermelon & Jalapeno crush, if it is already there, the man seems more than happy to make the healthier choices.

 

7 comments on “Making it easier to opt for healthier choices

  1. thehealthycracker
    October 11, 2015

    Hopefully this will work on my husband although his reasonings are different for chips over carrots

    • bakingwifemodernlife
      October 11, 2015

      lol hopefully! The other day I was making a stir fry and added nori matchsticks.. the hubby said ‘oh i love them’ and i said…’ because they are good for you??’ and he said’ umm no.. just because it tastes good..’ ahhh jeeezzzz 😛

      • thehealthycracker
        October 11, 2015

        That’s hilarious and so very true for men! What are nori matchsticks?

      • bakingwifemodernlife
        October 11, 2015

        Nori is the flat seaweed sheets that are used to make sushi. What I do is cut them into teeny little matchstick sized pieces and scatter them over salads and stir fries. Nori is super high in iron and for additional protein. It’s a really nice way to add a different ingredient into everyday cooking 🙂 xox

  2. gabbyratner
    October 7, 2015

    What a good idea. Will have to try it. Thanks

  3. holefoodfamily
    October 4, 2015

    Me: Laughing behind my hand
    (Formerly beige food eating, carnivorous)Husband: What’s funny?
    Me: Nothing!
    😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
