Baking Wife Modern Life

Gluten-Free and shamelessly delicious

Passion Fruit Melting Moments

This treat is not healthy by any stretch of the imagination! Passion Fruit Melting Moments was made upon request by Mr. BWML for his birthday and where possible, I aim to please. I was contemplating this post because these biscuits are not the healthiest things on earth however I felt it’s only fair to give everyone the chance to experience the feeling of euphoria so here it is. The shortbread is buttery and really does melt in your mouth. The flavour combinations are never ending, I made a passion fruit buttercream but you can put your own spin on these by incorporating different zests, juices or flavour extracts. The buttercream was not too sweet which makes this biscuit perfect. Don’t get me wrong I love sweet anything… but for me, there is such thing as too sweet. Do you agree? That’s is why I feel citrus, berries or any sharp additions to the buttercream works a treat.

These little morsels make for an excellent afternoon accompaniment with a coup of tea (once in a while!!). I say once in a while because unlike Mr. BWML who never seems to put on weight.. I dare to even look at rich decadent treats and I feel my butt expand. Story of my life. My niece fell in love with these, so I strategically packed most of them for her to take home merely to stop me from eating them because upon tasting these.. all logic and self control flies out the window and I inevitably sit there polishing them off.

Melting Moments with Passion fruit Buttercream
(Makes 15 sandwiched biscuits)

Short breads:
180g butter, softened
60g corn flour
60g icing sugar ( plus extra if you wish to finish the biscuits with a dusting of icing sugar)
2 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
180g plain gluten free flour ( plus 1 tbsp extra dusting your fork when making impressions)
1/2 tsp baking powder

Passion fruit Buttercream:
110g icing sugar
60g butter, softened
Pulp from 2 passion fruits

Pre-heat oven to 180C

Prepare 2 large baking sheets by lining them with baking paper or a silicon mat.

Biscuits:

These biscuits can be made just as easily in a bench stand mixer or by hand with an electric beater. If using a stand mixer, use the K beater.

Sift the icing sugar into a bowl and add the softened butter, vanilla and salt. Cream together until mixture is light in colour and fluffy. This should take a good 4 minutes or so.

Into the bowl, sift in the flour and baking powder.

Continue to beat until the mixture starts to stick together and gather around the beater paddles. The final mixture should look something like this:

Using a mini ice cream scoop, pack the mixture into the scoop then level it off, then push them out the baking sheets. Make sure to give them a bit of space in between to expand in the oven.

Roll each mound into a smooth ball. Doesn’t have to be perfect. After rolling about 3 balls, take a fork and dip it in the extra plain flour then lightly indent them to get the indentations then repeat for the remaining balls. The reason I only do 3 or 4 balls at a time is because I have found that if I roll all the balls first and then go back to fork them, they tend to crack more easily which isn’t what I was going for here.

Place them in the oven for 17 minutes.

Allow the biscuits to cool on the baking sheet for a good 5 minutes until they are firm enough to transfer onto a cooling rack.

Allow to completely cool.

Buttercream

Place the butter and passion fruit into a mixing bowl.

Sift in the icing flour.

Beat until light and fluffy

Transfer the buttercream into a piping bag attached with a nozzle if you prefer a funky pattern or simply snip the end of a bag for a more rounded piping pattern.

Assembly

Sort the biscuits into pairs where both biscuits are similar in size.

Pipe the buttercream generously on 1 of the biscuits in each pair.

Take the second plain biscuit and sandwich the buttercream

Sift icing sugar on the top if you like

NOTES:
These biscuits have a golden colour after baking. If you prefer a golden colour replace the cornflour for equal parts custard powder.

Substitute the passion fruit in the buttercream for any flavour you like. Citrus and berries work great!

7 comments on “Passion Fruit Melting Moments

  1. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 2 November | Feed My Family!

  2. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 12 Oct | Feed My Family!

  3. Pingback: Last Weeks Menu – 5 Oct | Feed My Family!

  4. Jillian
    October 5, 2015

    Made these the other day but without the passionfruit in the buttercream as I didn’t have any. They have been requested again by both my husband and son so I’m about to make another batch.

    • bakingwifemodernlife
      October 5, 2015

      Oh that’s fantastic Jillian that really makes me happy to hear that 🙂 I’m glad your family is enjoying them *Extra big hug* xoxoxox

  5. Natascha's Palace
    October 4, 2015

    I love this! 👏👏

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .
